a company of R&S
Menu
a company of R&S

Load Break Switches

The main component of a load break switch is the arc quenching chamber. Breaking the current flow in vacuum enables the breaking of large electric loads without arc-forming between the main contacts. Analogue to the disconnectors there are two available design types: the rocker type (design B1 and B2) and the knife type (design B3).

Load break switches produced by Rauscher & Stoecklin have the following properties:

  • Optional rated nominal voltage for 15kV or 25kV
  • Rated nominal currents up to 2’000A
  • Rated nominal breaking currents up to 2’000A
  • Proven arc quenching chamber with vacuum technology
  • Robust and reliable main contacts
  • Combination as 2-pole switch possible
  • Optional: switch position indicator
  • Optional: earthing heel

 

Catalog Railway Electrification

Catalog [DE] [EN]

 

Datasheets Load Break Switches:

Load Break Switch B1 [DE] [EN]
Load Break Switch B2 [DE] [EN]
Load Break Switch B3 [DE] [EN]

1. Switch closed:

The switch is closed and the overhead line is energised. The current flows through the main contacts from the source (left) to the consumer load. There is practically no current flowing through the vacuum chamber (< 1%) which is electrically connected in parallel with the main current path.

 

2. Main contact opens:

The main contact is being opened. The current path remains closed through the vacuum chamber. No arc occurs between the main contacts.

 

3. Arc quenching in vacuum:

As soon as the minimum isolation distance between the two main contacts is reached, the contacts inside the vacuum chamber opens. The resulting arc is being extinguished inside the vacuum. At this point the current will be interrupted completely. The overhead line remains de-energised.

 

4. Overhead line disconnected and electrically isolated:

The load break switch has reached its end position. The overhead line is visibly and electrically disconnected from the source (left).

 

Design Type - B1:
Design B1 is a rocker type switch with a flexible conductor between the moving part of the main contact and the fixed terminal of the overhead line. Both terminals of the load break switch can be connected to rigid connections which allow for a dense placement of the switches and optimal use of space.

15kV und 25kV


Design Type - B2:
Design B2 is also a rocker type switch but does not have a flexible conductor connection. This results in a very compact and economic version of a rocker type switch. Connection to this load break switch must be done over a flexible conductor which allows the movement of the switching arm.

15kV und 25kV


Design Type - B3:
Design B3, a knife type switch, provides another option for rigid applications. This load break switch extends our product portfolio and serves as alternative to the rocker type switch (B1) in applications where a nominal current of up to 2000A is a requirement.

15kV und 25kV

 

  • disconnection of load carrying catenary overhead line (OHL) sections up to 2’000A
  • for visible isolation of catenary overhead line (OHL) sections
  • additional protection for people and equipment
  • during maintenance work on railway sections
  • during maintenance work in substations, railway junctions, neutral zones and depots
  • in connection with auto transformers
Description

The main component of a load break switch is the arc quenching chamber. Breaking the current flow in vacuum enables the breaking of large electric loads without arc-forming between the main contacts. Analogue to the disconnectors there are two available design types: the rocker type (design B1 and B2) and the knife type (design B3).

Load break switches produced by Rauscher & Stoecklin have the following properties:

  • Optional rated nominal voltage for 15kV or 25kV
  • Rated nominal currents up to 2’000A
  • Rated nominal breaking currents up to 2’000A
  • Proven arc quenching chamber with vacuum technology
  • Robust and reliable main contacts
  • Combination as 2-pole switch possible
  • Optional: switch position indicator
  • Optional: earthing heel
Technical Information

 

Catalog Railway Electrification

Catalog [DE] [EN]

 

Datasheets Load Break Switches:

Load Break Switch B1 [DE] [EN]
Load Break Switch B2 [DE] [EN]
Load Break Switch B3 [DE] [EN]

Description of Load Breaking Sequences

1. Switch closed:

The switch is closed and the overhead line is energised. The current flows through the main contacts from the source (left) to the consumer load. There is practically no current flowing through the vacuum chamber (< 1%) which is electrically connected in parallel with the main current path.

 

2. Main contact opens:

The main contact is being opened. The current path remains closed through the vacuum chamber. No arc occurs between the main contacts.

 

3. Arc quenching in vacuum:

As soon as the minimum isolation distance between the two main contacts is reached, the contacts inside the vacuum chamber opens. The resulting arc is being extinguished inside the vacuum. At this point the current will be interrupted completely. The overhead line remains de-energised.

 

4. Overhead line disconnected and electrically isolated:

The load break switch has reached its end position. The overhead line is visibly and electrically disconnected from the source (left).

 

Product Line

Design Type - B1:
Design B1 is a rocker type switch with a flexible conductor between the moving part of the main contact and the fixed terminal of the overhead line. Both terminals of the load break switch can be connected to rigid connections which allow for a dense placement of the switches and optimal use of space.

15kV und 25kV


Design Type - B2:
Design B2 is also a rocker type switch but does not have a flexible conductor connection. This results in a very compact and economic version of a rocker type switch. Connection to this load break switch must be done over a flexible conductor which allows the movement of the switching arm.

15kV und 25kV


Design Type - B3:
Design B3, a knife type switch, provides another option for rigid applications. This load break switch extends our product portfolio and serves as alternative to the rocker type switch (B1) in applications where a nominal current of up to 2000A is a requirement.

15kV und 25kV

 

Applications
  • disconnection of load carrying catenary overhead line (OHL) sections up to 2’000A
  • for visible isolation of catenary overhead line (OHL) sections
  • additional protection for people and equipment
  • during maintenance work on railway sections
  • during maintenance work in substations, railway junctions, neutral zones and depots
  • in connection with auto transformers

Interrupteur-­sectionneurs

Le composant principal du interrupteur-sectionneur est la chambre de coupure sous vide. L’interruption du flux de courant dans le vide d’air permet l’extinction de courants et de tensions importants sans formation d’arc électrique au niveau du contact principal. Comme les sectionneurs, les interrupteur-sectionneurs existent en version interrupteur à bascule (construction B1 et B2) ainsi qu’en version interrupteur à lame (construction B3).

Les sectionneurs de charge de Rauscher & Stoecklin se distinguent par les caractéristiques suivantes:

  • À choix, 15kV ou 25kV
  • Courant de service jusqu’à 2000A
  • Courant de coupure allant jusqu’à 2’000A
  • Contacts principaux robustes et fiables
  • Technologie éprouvée de chambre de coupure sous vide
  • Version interrupteur bipolaire possible
  • Option : indicateur de position sur l’interrupteur
  • Option: mise à terre forcée

 

Catalog Railway Electrification

Catalog [DE] [EN]

 

Fiches techniques interrupteur-sectionneurs:

Load Break Switch B1 [DE] [EN]
Load Break Switch B2 [DE] [EN]
Load Break Switch B3 [DE] [EN]

Opération OFF:

1. Interrupteur fermé:

La ligne de contact est sous tension et l’interrupteur est fermé. Le courant circule à travers le contact principal depuis la source de courant (à gauche) vers le consommateur. Il n’y a presque pas de courant (< 1%) qui circule à travers la chambre de coupure sous vide qui se trouve en // du contact principal.

 

2. Contacts principaux s'ouvrir:

Les contacts principaux sont interrompus. Le circuit de courant reste fermé à travers la chambre de coupure sous vide. Il n’y a pas de formation d’arc électrique au niveau des contacts principaux.

 

3. Extinction de l'arc sous vide:

Dès que la distance entre les contacts principaux est atteinte, les contacts s’ouvrent dans la chambre de coupure sous vide. L’arc électrique est éteint dans le vide d’air. Le courant ne circule plus. La ligne de contact n’est plus sous tension.

 

4. Caténaire séparée et isolée:

Le sectionneur de charge a atteint sa position finale. La ligne de contact est séparée électriquement et visuellement de la source de courant (gauche).

 

Construction B1:
La construction B1 est un interrupteur à bascule avec une bande de liaison flexible entre la partie mobile du contact principal et la connexion fixe à la caténaire. Les connexions peuvent être réalisées des deux côtés par des connexions rigides, ce qui permet un arrangement dense d’interrupteurs dans les postes de couplage et une utilisation optimale de l’espace.

15kV et 25kV


Construction B2:
La conception du sectionneur B2  est également une version d’interrupteur à bascule, toutefois sans bande de liaison flexible. Ceci rend le sectionneur particulièrement compact et économique. La connexion devra obligatoirement être réalisé à l’aide d’une liaison flexible afin d’accompagner le mouvement du bras de commutation.

15kV et 25kV


Construction B3:
La construction B3, interrupteur à lame, est une troisième variante de sectionneur pour connexion rigide. Il complète l’assortiment et comparé à l’interrupteur à bascule B1, celui-ci autorise des courants de service jusqu’à 2000A.

15kV et 25kV

 

  • Pour l'arrêt de surcharge d'un section de caténaire jusque à 2'000 ampère
  • Pour une interruption visible de la ligne de contact sur un tronçon
  • En complément de la protection des personnes et des installations
  • Lors de travaux d’entretien sur un tronçon
  • Pour les travaux dans les sous-stations, les jonctions, les zones neutres et les dépôts.
  • Pour la connexion d’un autotransformateur
Description

Le composant principal du interrupteur-sectionneur est la chambre de coupure sous vide. L’interruption du flux de courant dans le vide d’air permet l’extinction de courants et de tensions importants sans formation d’arc électrique au niveau du contact principal. Comme les sectionneurs, les interrupteur-sectionneurs existent en version interrupteur à bascule (construction B1 et B2) ainsi qu’en version interrupteur à lame (construction B3).

Les sectionneurs de charge de Rauscher & Stoecklin se distinguent par les caractéristiques suivantes:

  • À choix, 15kV ou 25kV
  • Courant de service jusqu’à 2000A
  • Courant de coupure allant jusqu’à 2’000A
  • Contacts principaux robustes et fiables
  • Technologie éprouvée de chambre de coupure sous vide
  • Version interrupteur bipolaire possible
  • Option : indicateur de position sur l’interrupteur
  • Option: mise à terre forcée
Informations techniques

 

Catalog Railway Electrification

Catalog [DE] [EN]

 

Fiches techniques interrupteur-sectionneurs:

Load Break Switch B1 [DE] [EN]
Load Break Switch B2 [DE] [EN]
Load Break Switch B3 [DE] [EN]

Description fonctionelle

Opération OFF:

1. Interrupteur fermé:

La ligne de contact est sous tension et l’interrupteur est fermé. Le courant circule à travers le contact principal depuis la source de courant (à gauche) vers le consommateur. Il n’y a presque pas de courant (< 1%) qui circule à travers la chambre de coupure sous vide qui se trouve en // du contact principal.

 

2. Contacts principaux s'ouvrir:

Les contacts principaux sont interrompus. Le circuit de courant reste fermé à travers la chambre de coupure sous vide. Il n’y a pas de formation d’arc électrique au niveau des contacts principaux.

 

3. Extinction de l'arc sous vide:

Dès que la distance entre les contacts principaux est atteinte, les contacts s’ouvrent dans la chambre de coupure sous vide. L’arc électrique est éteint dans le vide d’air. Le courant ne circule plus. La ligne de contact n’est plus sous tension.

 

4. Caténaire séparée et isolée:

Le sectionneur de charge a atteint sa position finale. La ligne de contact est séparée électriquement et visuellement de la source de courant (gauche).

 

Assortiment

Construction B1:
La construction B1 est un interrupteur à bascule avec une bande de liaison flexible entre la partie mobile du contact principal et la connexion fixe à la caténaire. Les connexions peuvent être réalisées des deux côtés par des connexions rigides, ce qui permet un arrangement dense d’interrupteurs dans les postes de couplage et une utilisation optimale de l’espace.

15kV et 25kV


Construction B2:
La conception du sectionneur B2  est également une version d’interrupteur à bascule, toutefois sans bande de liaison flexible. Ceci rend le sectionneur particulièrement compact et économique. La connexion devra obligatoirement être réalisé à l’aide d’une liaison flexible afin d’accompagner le mouvement du bras de commutation.

15kV et 25kV


Construction B3:
La construction B3, interrupteur à lame, est une troisième variante de sectionneur pour connexion rigide. Il complète l’assortiment et comparé à l’interrupteur à bascule B1, celui-ci autorise des courants de service jusqu’à 2000A.

15kV et 25kV

 

Applications
  • Pour l'arrêt de surcharge d'un section de caténaire jusque à 2'000 ampère
  • Pour une interruption visible de la ligne de contact sur un tronçon
  • En complément de la protection des personnes et des installations
  • Lors de travaux d’entretien sur un tronçon
  • Pour les travaux dans les sous-stations, les jonctions, les zones neutres et les dépôts.
  • Pour la connexion d’un autotransformateur